Initiative Future of Teaching at UZH

 

Being a successful student means more than just getting a degree. Your studies shape the entire course of your life and prepare you for making responsible contributions to our shared future.

UZH offers students an excellent environment full of opportunities and a level of diversity that is unprecedented in Switzerland. We are also developing our teaching on an ongoing basis. Teaching at UZH meets the changing demands of a society in flux – creatively, innovatively and on a wide variety of levels.

We have launched the Future of Teaching initiative in order to more vigorously and strategically coordinate and promote these developments. The initiative encompasses five strategic directions.

 

 

Portrait Thomas Hidber

Developing Teaching Together

 

Enthusiastic, resourceful and gifted instructors create positive learning experiences and directly improve students’ prospects for the future.

Freedom is needed to create new types of teaching and refine existing ones to be up to date and effective over the long term.

This is why UZH promotes innovative teaching ideas and advocates for the creation of a lively, cross-faculty teaching community.

What’s being done to pursue this strategy?

 

  • The Teaching Fund (“Lehrkredit”) that was established in 2016 was replaced with the broader UZH Teaching Fund (ULF) as of 1 August 2022. It contains five funding lines. The amount of funding has nearly tripled and will amount to an annual CHF 2 million from 2023 on.
  • In the UZH Curriculum guidelines, the Office of the Vice President Education and Student Affairs has formulated six quality criteria that should guide curriculum creation, establishing a university-wide standard for attractive academic programs.
  • The office has intensified its efforts to build a teaching community that creates added value for members of the teaching staff.
  • The School for Transdisciplinary Studies (STS), founded in 2021, acts as a hub for promoting inter- and transdisciplinary studying and teaching. It offers courses to students from all faculties, supports instructors with developing and carrying out their teaching, and increases the visibility of inter- and transdisciplinarity at UZH.

 

 

 

Portrait Thomas Hidber

Expanding Horizons

 

Good teaching is open to outside ideas and offers students a variety of opportunities for gaining international experience.

New cooperations are currently arising between European universities, and they offer great potential for change when it comes to teaching. Common virtual campuses are being built, online learning resources are being shared, and experimental, innovative forms of student mobility are being created.

UZH is involved in university networks in order to be part of these dynamic developments and to showcase and contribute its strengths on the international stage.

What's being done to pursue this strategy?

 

  • On 9 May 2022, UZH joined Una Europa, an alliance promoted by the European Universities Initiative, thereby paving the way for future research and teaching cooperation with international partner institutions. The University of Zurich is actively involved in planning and implementing academic programs which will also benefit UZH students in the future. The current focus is on innovative, interdisciplinary teaching projects in the field of European Studies and Sustainability.
  • UZH is also a member of other carefully selected networks. UZH is also involved in Universitas 21, an international network of research-intensive universities, in the League of European Research Universities (LERU), and in the Berlin-Vienna-Zurich University Network.

 

 

 

Portrait Thomas Hidber

Flexible Lifelong Learning

 

Universities share their knowledge with society. Researchers disseminate their findings, tackle current issues and inspire others to do their own thinking.

With society and technology undergoing rapid transformation, the need for lifelong learning is growing, as is the demand for shorter, more flexible and more open formats for acquiring knowledge on the university level.

UZH sees itself as a trailblazer when it comes to lifelong learning. The university is making efforts to open up its course offerings even more while at the same time ensuring their high level of quality.

What’s being done to pursue this strategy?

 

  • UZH is using its members in Una Europa to co-develop and test microcredentials that count as course credits and that are offered inter-institutionally. The first step involves clarifying the necessary legal, technical and didactic requirements.
  • UZH continues to promote dialog with business leaders, policymakers and the general public via its outreach activities, which are being developed on an ongoing basis. A concept paper with guidelines is currently in development to address the growing importance of outreach from universities.

 

 

 

Portrait Thomas Hidber

Improving Digital Services

 

Teaching and studying activities rely on having digital services that are as smooth, intuitive and user-friendly as possible.

Here it’s equally important to close existing digitalization gaps as well as to future-proof the university in terms of digital services. 

UZH provides the necessary prerequisites and ensures that digital services for students, instructors and administrative staff are fast and continually improved.

What’s being done to pursue this strategy?

 

  • Since 2020, the Process Owner E-ducation division, based in the Office of the Vice President Education and Student Affairs, has been supporting the university with the strategic development of its digital services within administrative support units for students and teachers. At times, the division also assists with deploying educational technology. Establishing this new unit has far-reaching implications for the interplay between all stakeholders active in this space (the faculties, Central IT, etc.). Currently a digitalization governance structure is being set up with the aim of facilitating efficient and effective cooperation between these stakeholders.
  • As of the 2022 Fall Semester, booking modules are operational at UZH. Alongside updated technology and a redesign, the university has also invested in making the booking module bilingual and more up to date in terms of user friendliness.
  • In addition to OLAT, UZH will have access to a second exam software program starting in 2023. Inspera was the clear winner in the call for tenders: it gives examiners at UZH more freedom of choice and allows them to create and evaluate proficiency-based assignments, even with large class sizes.
  • In all places where there’s unnecessary heterogeneity between the faculties, UZH aims to reduce complexity and introduce careful harmonization. For instance, new standard sets for data modeling in SAP Student Lifecycle Management (SLcM) are being created in order to depict curricula and modules in a more uniform way across faculties.
  • In the fall of 2022, UZH will also wrap up its Self-Audit and Degree Audit project; students now have the opportunity to track the progress of their studies in the new application and can actively apply to complete their studies at the Office of Student Affairs.

 

 

 

Portrait Thomas Hidber

Campus of the Future

 

For students, the campus is the social core of the university – a place to make contact inside and outside of their courses. It’s a place where the university community comes to life.

These encounters can only take place if the appropriate space is provided, whether it be in person, virtual or a hybrid between the two.

UZH is pursuing an experimental approach when it comes to designing spaces for teaching and learning; we are launching relevant pilot projects and are paving the way for the campus of the future.

What’s being done to pursue this strategy?

 

  • The highly influential Stadtuniversität UZH project is UZH’s way of ensuring that teaching and research can keep pace with the times and that the students of the future can also receive high-quality education and training. We are currently working on a concept concerning the teaching and learning spaces of the future. The concept will define standards for mid- and long-term construction and renovation projects and serve as a guide for concrete teaching development projects (e.g., as part of FORUM UZH).
  • The fast pace of digitalization means that the requirements for equipping classrooms and lecture halls are also changing more quickly. For already existing rooms, the basic requirements for up-to-date teaching include high-performance WiFi, state-of-the-art audio/video technology and plenty of power outlets. The necessary infrastructure is currently being evaluated and expanded on an ongoing basis.
  • In addition to its long-term construction projects, UZH is also pursuing a low-threshold, experimental approach when it comes to developing teaching and learning spaces. The aim is to find solutions to immediate challenges as quickly as possible. Two pilot projects are currently under way. One involves the creation of hybrid teaching lecture halls at three UZH sites. The other project involves creating study spaces that offer a range of learning options while also being places where students can socialize and make use of relevant services.

 

 

 

Do you have two minutes for us?

Navigation auf uzh.ch

Suche

UZH für Lehrverantwortliche

Initiative Zukunft der Lehre an der UZH

Die UZH bietet ihren Studierenden ein exzellentes Umfeld voller Möglichkeiten und von schweizweit einzigartiger Vielfalt. Bei der Weiterentwicklung ihrer Lehre setzt sie auf die Expertise, die Kreativität und das Engagement ihrer Dozierenden und Studienprogrammverantwortlichen.

Die UZH stärkt damit das Zusammengehörigkeitgefühl der universitären Lehrgemeinschaft und begegnet so gut vernetzt und mit vereinten Kräften den Ansprüchen einer sich rasch wandelnden Gesellschaft. 

Um diese Entwicklungen zu koordinieren und noch kraftvoller und gezielter voranzutreiben, wurde die Initiative "Zukunft der Lehre an der UZH" lanciert. Sie umfasst folgende fünf Handlungsfelder.

 

Logo Lehre weiterentwicklen

Lehre gemeinsam weiterentwickeln

Begeisterte, einfallsreiche und kompetente Dozierende sorgen für positive Lernerfahrungen und steigern direkt die individuellen Zukunftschancen der Studierenden.

Für die Neu- und Weiterentwicklung zeitgemässer und nachhaltig wirksamer Unterrichtsformen braucht es Freiräume.

Die UZH fördert deshalb innovative Ideen in der Lehre und setzt sich für den Aufbau einer lebendigen, überfakultären Teaching Community ein. 

Was läuft in diesem Handlungsfeld?

  • Mit dem sogenannten "UZH Curriculum" formuliert das Prorektorat Lehre und Studium sechs Qualitätsmerkmale, die bei der Curriculumsentwicklung leitend sein sollen, und schafft damit einen universitätsweiten Standard für attraktive Studienangebote. 
  • Der seit 2016 bestehende Lehrkredit wurde per 1. August 2022 durch die breiter aufgestellte universitäre Lehrförderung (ULF) abgelöst, die neu fünf Linien umfasst. Die Fördersumme wurde fast verdreifacht und beträgt ab 2023 jährlich 2 Millionen Franken.
  • Das Prorektorat intensiviert seine Bestrebungen zum Aufbau einer Teaching-Community, die den Dozierenden einen direkten Mehrwert bietet.
  • Die 2021 gegründete School for Transdisciplinary Studies (STS) fördert als Angebotshub inter- und transdisziplinäres Studieren und Lehren. Sie vermittelt Lehrangebote an Studierende aller Fakultäten, unterstützt die Anbietenden bei der Entwicklung und Durchführung der Lehre und erhöht die Sichtbarkeit von Inter- und Transdisziplinarität an der UZH.

 

Logo Horizonte erweitern

Horizonte erweitern

Gute Lehre ist offen für Impulse von aussen und bietet den Studierenden vielfältige Möglichkeiten, internationale Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

Aktuell entstehen europaweit neue Kooperationen zwischen Universitäten, die grosses Veränderungspotenzial für die Lehre mitbringen. Es werden gemeinsame "Virtual Campuses" aufgebaut, Online-Lernressourcen geteilt sowie Experimentierfelder für innovative Formen von Studierendenmobilität ermöglicht. 

Um an dieser dynamischen Entwicklung teilzuhaben und um ihre Stärken international einzubringen und sichtbar zu machen, engagiert sich die UZH in universitären Netzwerken.

Was läuft in diesem Handlungsfeld?

  • Am 9. Mai 2022 trat die UZH der von der European Universities Initiative geförderten Allianz Una Europa bei und legte damit einen wichtigen Grundstein für künftige Kooperationen mit internationalen Partnerhochschulen in Forschung und Lehre. Die UZH bringt sich dabei aktiv in die Planung und Umsetzung von Studienangeboten ein, von welchen in Zukunft auch die Studierenden der UZH profitieren sollen. Im Fokus stehen momentan insbesondere innovative, interdisziplinäre Lehrprojekte im Bereich European Studies und Sustainability.
  • Die UZH ist darüber hinaus Mitglied weiterer sorgfältig ausgewählter Netzwerke. Sie ist involviert in das internationale Netzwerk forschungsstarker Universitäten Universitas 21 (U21), in die League of European Research Universities (LERU) sowie in das Universitätsnetzwerk Berlin-Wien-Zürich.

 

Logo Flexibles Lernen - ein Leben lang

Flexibles Lernen – ein Leben lang

Universitäten teilen ihr Wissen mit der Gesellschaft – Forschende geben ihre Erkenntnisse weiter, nehmen aktuelle Fragen auf und regen zum Mit- und Weiterdenken an.

Mit dem rasanten gesellschaftlichen und technologischen Wandel wächst die Notwendigkeit zum lebenslangen Lernen und die Nachfrage nach kleineren, flexibleren und offeneren Formaten, die universitäres Wissen vermitteln, steigt.

Die UZH versteht sich als Vorreiterin im Hinblick auf das lebenslange Lernen. Sie unternimmt Anstrengungen, um ihr Bildungsangebot weiter zu öffnen und zugleich dessen Qualität sicherzustellen.

Was läuft in diesem Handlungsfeld?

  • Die UZH nutzt den Beitritt zu Una Europa, um im Rahmen der Allianz gegenseitig anrechenbare bzw. auch interinstitutionell angebotene Micro-Credentials zu entwickeln und zu pilotieren. In einem ersten Schritt werden die dafür notwendigen rechtlichen, technischen und didaktischen Voraussetzungen abgeklärt.
  • Die UZH setzt sich weiterhin für den Dialog mit Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik ein und entwickelt ihre Outreach-Aktivitäten systematisch weiter. Aktuell entsteht ein handlungsleitendes Konzeptpapier, das sich mit der steigenden Bedeutung von Outreach von Hochschulen auseinandersetzt.

 

Logo digitale Services

Digitale Services verbessern

Der Lehr- und Studienbetrieb ist auf möglichst reibungslose sowie intuitiv bedienbare digitale Services angewiesen.

Dabei ist es gleichermassen relevant, bestehende Digitalisierungslücken zu schliessen sowie durch vorausschauende Planung die digitale Zukunftsfähigkeit der Hochschule zu erhalten. 

Die UZH schafft die notwendigen Voraussetzungen dafür und stellt sicher, dass die Qualität digitaler Services für Studierende, Dozierende und die Studien- sowie Lehradministration schnell und nachhaltig verbessert wird.

Was läuft in diesem Handlungsfeld?

  • Seit 2020 unterstützt die im Prorektorat Lehre und Studium angesiedelte Abteilung Student Lifecycle eServices die UZH bei der strategischen Weiterentwicklung digitaler Services im Bereich der Studien- und Lehradministration und punktuell auch beim Einsatz von Bildungstechnologien. Die Etablierung dieses neuen Akteurs hat weitreichende Implikationen auf das Zusammenspiel zwischen allen in diesem Umfeld tätigen Stakeholdern (Fakultäten, Zentrale Informatik u.a.m.). Aktuell wird eine Digitalisierungs-Governance definiert und implementiert, die eine effiziente und effektive Zusammenarbeit aller betroffenen Akteure in diesem Feld ermöglicht.
  • Seit Herbstsemester 2022 hat die UZH ein neues System zur Modulbuchung: Neben der Neugestaltung des Modulbuchungsmodells (weg vom Prinzip "first come, first served") wurde auch in eine zeitgemässe Usability und in Zweisprachigkeit investiert. 
  • Neben OLAT steht an der UZH ab 2023 eine zweite Prüfungssoftware zur Verfügung. Inspera überzeugte im Ausschreibeverfahren, gibt den Prüfenden an der UZH mehr Wahlfreiheit und ermöglicht  die Erstellung und Auswertung kompetenzorientierter Prüfungsaufgaben – auch bei grossen Studierendenkohorten.
  • Überall dort, wo die Heterogenität zwischen den Fakultäten fachlich nicht zwingend ist, soll der Komplexität entgegengewirkt und behutsam harmonisiert werden. In einem abteilungsübergreifenden Projekt werden deshalb die Grundlagen erarbeitet, um künftig die Curricula fakultätsübergreifend homogener abbilden zu können.
  • Seit Oktober 2022 stellt die UZH den Studierenden eine neue Anwendung zur Verfügung. Mit der neuen Applikation "Mein Studium" können die Studierenden ihren Studienfortschritt selbständig überprüfen und die Ausstellung der Abschlussdokumente beantragen.

 

Logo Campus der Zukunft

Campus der Zukunft

Für Studierende ist der Campus der zentrale Ort der Begegnung. Hier werden Kontakte innerhalb sowie ausserhalb von Lehrveranstaltungen geknüpft. Hier entsteht universitäre Gemeinschaft.

Diese Begegnungen sind dann erfolgreich, wenn geeignete Räume zur Verfügung stehen – vor Ort, aber auch hybrid und virtuell.

Die UZH verfolgt einen experimentierfreudigen Ansatz in der Lehr- und Lernraumgestaltung. Sie stösst geeignete Pilotprojekte an und bahnt damit den Weg zum Campus der Zukunft.

Was läuft in diesem Handlungsfeld?

  • Mit dem "Generationenvorhaben Stadtuniversität UZH – Bauen für Bildung und Forschung" stellt die UZH sicher, dass Lehre und Forschung mit der Zeit gehen können und auch künftige Studierende eine hochwertige Aus- und Weiterbildung erhalten. Momentan entsteht das sogenannte Rahmenkonzept "Lehr- und Lernräume der Zukunft", welches Standards definiert für mittel- und langfristige Bau- und Sanierungsprojekte sowie einen Referenzrahmen für konrekte Lehrentwicklungsprojekte (u.a. im FORUM UZH) vorgibt.
  • Mit fortschreitender Digitalisierung verändern sich sich die Anforderungen an die Ausstattung von Lehrräumen immer rascher. Zu den Grundvoraussetzungen für eine zeitgemässe Lehre in bereits bestehenden Räumen gehören vor allem ein leistungsfähiges W-LAN, moderne Audio-/Video-Technologie sowie ausreichend Steckdosen. Die dafür notwendige Infrastruktur wird momentan evaluiert und laufend ausgebaut.
  • Parallel zu den Bauvorhaben mit langfristigem Planungshorizont, verfolgt die UZH einen niederschwelligen, experimentierfreudigen Entwicklungsansatz in den Lehr- und Lernraumgestaltung. Für unmittelbare Herausforderungen sollen möglichst rasch Lösungen gefunden werden. Momentan werden zwei Pilotprojekte realisiert. Einerseits entstehen an drei UZH-Standorten Hörsäle, die sich für hybride Lehrsettings eignen. Andererseits werden innovative Studierendenarbeitsplätze geschaffen, die vielfältige Lernmöglichkeiten bieten aber gleichzeitig ein Ort sind, wo man sich austauscht und relevante Services beziehen kann. 

 

Haben Sie noch zwei Minuten Zeit?

Weiterführende Informationen

"Das Ganze im Blick behalten."

An der UZH wurde die Initiative «Zukunft der Lehre» lanciert. Wohin die Reise geht und was die Initiative den Dozierenden und Studierenden bringt, erklärt Gabriele Siegert, Prorektorin Lehre und Studium, im Interview.

Student der in der Bibliothek lernt

Mein Studium. Unsere Zukunft

Dieser Film begleitet vier Studierende der UZH durch ihren Alltag  und zeigt, dass es kein Patentrezept für ein erfolgreiches Studium gibt. Vielmehr erfordert es Mut und Zuversicht, den eigenen Weg zu finden und zu verfolgen.

Unterstützung für die Lehre

Unterstützungsangebote

Die Initiative "Zukunft der Lehre an der UZH" setzt einen starken Akzent auf Unterstützung für alle UZH-Angehörigen, die in der Lehre tätig sind. Über diese beiden Direkteinstiege gelangen Sie zu den momentan bestehenden Angeboten.

Neues aus der Lehre

  • Bereit für die Arbeitswelt?

    Im neuen Master-Studienprogramm «DSI Minor Digital Skills», das im Herbst 2024 an der UZH lanciert wird, erwerben Studierende nicht nur digitale Fertigkeiten, sondern suchen gemeinsam mit Forschenden

Bereichs-Navigation